Courtauld vs UC Davis?

mochicake

I know, I know... Judging from the title it seems to be an easy pick, but hear me out on this. In 2021, I've already applied to The Courtauld MA of Art History and was accepted under Prof. Sarah Wilson's Conceptualism, but for many reason I ended up decline the offer and took a year off. My background is in contemporary Chinese art, with an interest in geopolitics/regional identity. I graduated from UC Davis with an honor in Art History in 2021.

I applied again this year and was so glad to see the Global China option is back at The Courtauld. From reading the course description I KNOW this option is tailored to my research interest, and Prof. Wenny Teo seems to be a very nice lady. I also applied to UC Davis just for more options. Didn't apply for other schools because I am not very interested in moving to the Mid-West/East Coast at this moment. Now I get an offer from both and I am having difficulties to choose one. Pros & Cons listed below:

The Courtauld

Pros: 1. Prestigious & solid alumni network;

2. Program & professor's work are highly relevant to my interest & background

3. London - the global art centre. Plus I've lived in London for 6 months in 2019 so I know the city quite well

Cons: 1. Notoriously intense schedule & workload for a 1-year master, also notoriously known for its lack of student support in terms of academic work

2. I barely know anyone in London besides my one close friend (who is also in the art industry and have been living there for 10+ yrs)

3. Lack of financial aid (not my primary concern, though)

UC Davis

Pros: 1. I know all the professors and have established close relationships with some, especially the one who I knew will be my advisor

2. Two-year program offers more room to breathe, as well as a universal training + TA experience

3. Well-funded program given their financial package - at least half of the tuition would be paid off