Gravda

I've been accepted into an MTS program of a private university that ranks in the top 120ish nationwide and is one of the best in the region; 2nd best school in the city. I'm being offered a full-ride with a small stipend. Its an R2 school much larger and more well-known than my undergraduate institution. 

It has a religious affiliation but seems to be more pluralist in practice.

(keeping it vague for obvious reasons).

My concern is that I won't be able to take coursework needed for a PhD in Hebrew Bible/Old Testament/Ancient Near East. For example, they don't offer Hebrew but I'd be able to take it at a nearby institution and transfer it in. 

The program is a 2-year program with between 30-45 hours. I have an undergraduate degree in Bible/Theology from a Bible college program. 

Would it be a waste of time to pursue this if I couldn't go directly into a PhD program? Or would this be a helpful bridge towards a second, more specialized master's degree (MA). 

It's not a school necessarily known for religious studies, but the school itself has a good reputation. If I decline this offer, not sure if there will be another chance to get a full-ride master's degree; but I know for certain that a 2nd master's degree would be mandatory for me to get what i needed to get into a PhD?

Thoughts? Is this a common experience? Am I better off going straight for a master's that'd directly qualify me for a doctoral program? 

(P. S., what are your thoughts about how to maintain a career/living while also pursuing academics? The market stinks, but I'm wondering if its possible to have a living in a professional job that isn't working retail or blue collar, but then getting advanced degrees). 

Edited by Gravda

3 hours ago, Gravda said:

My concern is that I won't be able to take coursework needed for a PhD in Hebrew Bible/Old Testament/Ancient Near East. For example, they don't offer Hebrew but I'd be able to take it at a nearby institution and transfer it in.