MSPPM DA at CMU vs. QMSS at Columbia University

jfiwoe

Question

Hi everyone, this is Cleon.

I am an international student and have received Public Policy and Management - Data Analytic Track (MSPPM DA) offer from the CMU and Quantitative Methods in Social Sciences (QMSS) offer from Columbia University. 

I want to have a researcher job in the United States in the World Bank or other international organizations and have my PhD 3 year later in a top university in the US in the public policy field. I am currently undecided about which university to go.

1. QMSS at Columbia
    1. Pro:
      1. Reputation and network
      2. New York City where are lots of relevant opportunities, especially in international organizations
      3. access to better faculty in micro-economics and politics
      4. Flexible Curriculum
      5. Practicum projects opportunities (with UN)
    2. Con:
      1. Expensive in NYC
      2. only 1.5 years (three semesters) to equip myself with quantitative skills
  2. MSPPM DA at CMU:
    1. Pro:
      1. duration of 2 years (4 semesters)
      2. much more solid quantitative training (maybe?)
      3. low living cost
      4. Capstone project opportunities (but not with international organizations)
    2. Con:
      1. maybe not-that-good faculty in Micro-economics and Politics
      2. have to relocate to big cities for internship
      3. less access to international organizations

Could you please kindly share some suggestions with me, I am kind of confused here.

2 answers to this question

2 hours ago, jfiwoe said:

Hi everyone, this is Cleon.

I am an international student and have received Public Policy and Management - Data Analytic Track (MSPPM DA) offer from the CMU and Quantitative Methods in Social Sciences (QMSS) offer from Columbia University.