Low GRE score

trumpetplayr128

Hi, I took the GRE and made a 950 which I was obviously very disappointed by. I studied for roughly two weeks before I took it. I am definitely taking it again but I am worried that I will not do well. I have never been the best test taker but I did much better on the SAT. I took 3 CAT tests through the Princeton Review. What else should I do to help? I have considered taking a Kaplan course to help me prepare. Any thoughts? Thanks!

If you're serious about the GRE and starting with a 950, you'll need to devote some serious time to it. Certainly courses offered by places like Kaplan and Princeton can help, but they also cost quite a bit. You can also just buy their resources and dedicate yourself to regular studying. I know many people (including myself) studied for months.

Having been an instructor for one of the previously mentioned test prep companies, I can suggest that you don't just take practice tests. Really focus on developing the specific skills/knowledge for both the math and verbal, in addition to building your vocabulary (this should involve daily work, drills, flashcards, etc.) If you are applying this fall/winter, you should have at least two months of studying left before you have to take the exam. Best of luck!

My GRE scores were extremely disappointing. However, I know that I do not do well on multiple choice tests, so instead of retaking them, I improved my application my getting some papers submitted for publication and focused on winning funding (SSHRC). After I did that I got into almost every school I applied to, even the schools that said they had high cutoffs for the GREs. Obviously, if you can improve your scores great...if not, it's not the end of the world, there are other ways you can improve your application.

Edited by psyched