Any advice for 2023 applicant?

Hello All
I'm just starting the process to apply for MPP programs for Fall 2023. I currently work at a FAANcompany and I have about 7 years of work experience split between it and another FAANG company.
I plan on applying to HKS, Yale Jackson, USC Price, and possibly UChicago Harris, all for MPP. I'm still open to considering other schools.

Random Stats:

• 7 Years of post grad work exp 
    • Currently working in an Admin/Program Manager role at FAANon a "Policy Team"
    • Other work experience in HR, Recruiting
  • 4 UG internships (business related)
  • Agri-business degree from Big Ten School
  • Trash UG GPA
  • Diverse candidate (Black American)
  • Letter of Reqs have been informed and are ready to write strong recommendations
    • All are professional reqs 
  • Years of volunteer and leadership exp
  • 1st gen college 
  • Have not taken GRE yet but studying 

Questions:

• Any advice on the application process?
  • Anything you wish you would have done more/less?
  • Which should I focus on more: GRE, Letter of Req, or SOP/Essays?
  • Should I spend money to attend in-person events such as UChicago's in-person speaker series? (They waive the app fee if I attend)
    • Second, should I tour schools while in the application process? Does this help get you "known" by admissions?
  • Should I bother with reaching out to professors? If yes, does anyone have a template?
  • Does school ranking matter? 
  • What MPP/A programs should I absolutely not look at? I've heard Penn Fels is a no-go.
  • Are you happy about pursuing your Policy Degree? 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank You

8 hours ago, Podrick Payne said:

Hello All
I'm just starting the process to apply for MPP programs for Fall 2023. I currently work at a FAANcompany and I have about 7 years of work experience split between it and another FAANG company.