Can an AW score kill a strong application?

natsteel

Here's my conundrum... I scored passably with a 660v 560q but only a 4aw. I am actually a very strong writer with an honors thesis as my writing sample. I also have 3 letters from highly respected professors in my field. I am applying to 4 or 5 top 15 programs in early American history (and 3-4 lesser ranked programs) but now I am worried that my 4 on the writing may get my app junked before it's even seen by an adcom expecting 300 or more apps for my department alone. Do you think it is imperative that I take the test again to improve the AW score, if not also the V score?

Edited by natsteel

In my opinion the AW score shouldn't kill your chances but I've seen some schools in my field (Computer Science) that have a cut off for AW, but I'm not sure for your field. In my opinion your writing sample and SOP should count for a lot more, but unfortunately I don't sit on any admissions committeewink.gif If you don't feel comfortable with those scores, especially applying to top 15 schools, perhaps its worth doing over, if only to settle your nerves. You could also contact the schools you are applying to in order to find out if they have a cutoff.

EDIT: Just to clarify, the cutoffs I've seen are lower than your scores, so you would absolutely pass the minimum requirements that I've seen in my field and I suspect in your field. The question you need to ask yourself is if your application overall is strong enough to get into the schools you want to go to.

Edited by newms

I don't sit on any admissions committees either, but, as newms says, your application is a package.

If your honors thesis is truly superb and also your recommendations and GPA (3.85 or over), then you're probably OK, from what I've read here and elsewhere -- though admission to Yale and its ilk is practically never guaranteed, even to the top 99.5th percentile.