2023 East Asian Studies (EAS/EALL/EALCS/EALC)

Hi, everyone! I'm a second-year MA in East Asian studies. Applying to Ph.D. programs this winter--mostly EAS/EALAC but some Comp. Lit, Film and Media, etc.

To be honest, not feeling particularly hopeful about my chances because programs are so competitive and I don't have a lot to brag about in my applications. We'll see! 

• 2 weeks later...

Hi I am an undergraduate student from mainland China applying for an MA in East Asian Studies. I have currently finished submitting my application and have not received any interview notification.
As well as I would like to know why the East Asian Studies section of this forum is so cold this year, there are hardly any replies.

Hi there

I just finished my MA thesis in South Korea and applied for EALC phd in modern chinese literature :)

Dyingly Waiting for some updates here

wish you all the best luck!

Plus, a happy new year!!!

Edited by Beijing Koala

Hi all!

Good luck to everyone.

I wanted to add my schools and join the conversation so that we are not all anxious alone, but anxious together.

I am applying to study contemporary China in various disciplines this application cycle, but in terms of EALC departments I applied to Berkeley, Columbia, Chicago, USC, and UCLA. I also applied to other departments (not EALC) at MIT, Harvard, Yale, Washington Seattle, WashU in St. Louis, Stanford, and UCSD.

Hi, all there! I am glad to find this thread because I now have someone to make me company while my anxiety hits hard here! I am currently enrolled in a MA in Translation Studies, but my main interest is in Japanese literature. I applied to Princeton, Upenn, Umich (ALC & Comp Lit), UCL-Davis (Comparative Literature) and University of Colorado -Boulder (ALC). Haven´t heard from any of them so far, but really hoping we all can get admission for Fall 2023!! Best of luck!!