SSHRC Postdoc 2023-2024

SSHRCDreams

Also my first time applying. I don't know what to think. I completed my PhD in the summer, and my external reportedly gave me the best reference letter that is humanly possible. I know my supervisor will give his best too. I also had 4 accepted single author articles. What did past successful academic CVs look like?

The funny takeaway from these is how variable it can be. I know it varies by committee, but there are some unsuccessful applicants with far more publications. It might be that their proposed project wasn't very promising, or their letters weren't superlative enough. It is difficult to say.

@slc4a3 

That makes it more stressful! The worst part is I got a book contract and a handful of papers in leading journals SINCE submitting to SSHRC. It makes fear of it not turning out all the worse! At the of submission, I had 4 single author papers (accepted or published), 2 under review, 6 conference papers, completed PhD, and superlative letters of reference from people who have done very well with SSHRC. Even still, I don't know if it is enough.

• 2 weeks later...

@slc4a3

Re: results in February, I'm skeptical about that. If you look at last year's GradCafe discussion of the SSHRC postdoc, many people didn't get their results until the first week of March. The Banting results are earlier, of course. 

However, I have a little cautious optimism about the odds. Historically, the success rate for the SSHRC postdoc has been 18-20%. But the anecdotal examples of successful people who posted last year suggest that some committees were seeing a 28% success rate. 

It is a much higher success rate than any other "in house" competitions. The challenge is how arbitrary it can be. For a institutional post-doc, you can get a sense of what they want. SSHRC is arbitrated by third parties, so you never know.

@UC-23