PhD in Education or PhD in Curriculum and Instruction?

PinkTeacher901

Hello, everyone.

I’ve been working as a high school English teacher for the past seven years. I’d love to get my PhD to potentially teach college someday. I guess I’m a bit confused about these two degrees: the PhD in Curriculum and Instruction (with emphasis on English Education) versus the PhD in Education.

I’m interested in an online PhD in Curriculum and Instruction at SUNY Albany. I also was interested in the PhD in Education at Rowan University in New Jersey. 

I want a program that will allow me to merge my passion for literature with education. That’s why I was sort of leaning towards Curriculum and Instruction, but a friend mentioned that the PhD in Education would be better. 

Please let me know your thoughts. 

Those names don't really matter at all. Faculty researching the exact same things will be in an Ed PhD at one place and a Curriculum and Instruction PhD at another. Sometimes, Curriculum and Instruction is a sub-category under the Education PhD and even though the program is C&I, the degree is actually still just a PhD in Education.

What do you foresee yourself teaching in the future? It sounds like maybe you want to teach English courses in college and then neither Ed PhD will be useful to you. You would want a PhD in Literacy or Language in an English department instead. Ed (and C&I) PhDs do research on the teaching of English (they aren't trained to teach English themselves). Can you provide some more clarity on your career goals?

2 hours ago, t_ruth said:

Those names don't really matter at all. Faculty researching the exact same things will be in an Ed PhD at one place and a Curriculum and Instruction PhD at another. Sometimes, Curriculum and Instruction is a sub-category under the Education PhD and even though the program is C&I, the degree is actually still just a PhD in Education.