Application advice/ my "numbers"

banksy

Hey everyone,

I just started an account, I have been reading these forums for a while now... figured it was time to participate.

A little about myself: I went to UCSC for my undergraduate studies and majored In Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. i did not get any research experience while there, but did manage to get one good letter (I still have to contact him but he only has the best things to say). Anyway, I graduated with a 3.5 major GPA and 3.2 cumulative, I know not so great, but it was college and my future was still so far away at the time. I was unemployed for a half a year until I finally landed a dream job working in a privately run lab in downtown Berkeley. I have been there for approximately 7 months and will be working there until, hopefully, I get into graduate school. I bust my ass working and should be able to get my other two letters from my PI and the senior scientist I work directly with. The senior scientist did his postdoc in UCSF (for the head of a department) and has connects there, Stanford (met an admissions board member when my boss gave a seminar to his lab), and UCB, so hopefully he can talk to people, who know people, who blah blah blah....I am trying not to rely on that....but my "numbers" are not too great.