What matters in applying to grad school?

akatsushi

Hey all! I'm a current freshman undergrad who is strongly considering philosophy grad school. I study philosophy on my own a lot, have an A+ in my phil class, had my professor offer to write me a rec (not a well known academic), am expecting to major in philosophy (and German), and go to a school with a well-respected philosophy department (top 5 in Leiter rankings).

Now, I don't want to make this too personalized, because I have a feeling this forum isn't meant as an advice column, so I wanted to ask two questions. One is more general.

1. What sort of things are emphasized in the admissions process for philosophy grad school? What matters most, and what is more secondary? What should I be doing as an undergrad to increase my chances of admission at competitive programs?

2. More personal problem, my first semester freshman GPA is going to be bad... I'm probably going to get a B or A- in one class (Econ) and a C in another (Calc III, multivariable). Overall first semester GPA will add up to a 3.25... this was pretty rough, because I had good high school grades. But I'm not taking any more math classes after this semester: I'm planning on taking only philosophy (and German) courses... I'm naturally terrible at math (no idea why I took calc iii), so I expect my GPA to improve, and I think I can probably manage a 4.0 next semester (and believe I can continue improving over time - given all 4.0s from now on, which is unlikely but possible, I can end with above a 3.9).

I guess my question boils down to: does getting a C in calculus freshman year look terrible on an application, and how important is my overall GPA (as opposed to my major GPA if my major is in philosophy)?

Thanks

3 hours ago, akatsushi said: