Harvard Education Masters

msocgradstudent

Sorry to hear about your rejection. I was just accepted into the Learning and Teaching program. I'm a senior undergrad at top tier school in NYC. My GPA is 3.8. GRE 650 Verbal/570 Math/5.5 Writing (which really isn't great...). I was pretty confident in both my statement of purpose and recommendations, but I think the two things that worked best in my favor are that I have experience doing academic research and my undergraduate degree is in Music Education, so I have spent a lot of time observing and student teaching in NYC public schools.

Hope this helps!

I haven't heard anything on funding yet, but if I don't get enough, I wont be able to go. When I filled out my FAFSA, my estimated contribution to my education was very low because I'm independent, fresh out of undergrad, and not receiving any money from family. I honestly have no idea what their packages are like. I believe tuition and fees come out to close to $35,000...plus housing...ugh.

A person I know get into HGSE for M.A.

Background

- GPA 3.9 (2nd rank in class) from School of education, university in South East Asia

- GRE V660/Q680/AWA 3.5

- TOEFL (paper-based) above 600 TWE 3

- LOR from HGSE Alumni

- 1.5-2 years teaching experience in private school in his country

Hope this helps.

I'm sorry to hear about your rejection, but if it's any consolation, I met the admissions director during an open house last year and she mentioned quite often that HGSE is searching for passionate individuals dedicated to education and want to see that aspect somewhere in an application. She also said that the admissions committee doesn't categorize applications by GPA or GRE scores but examines each file holistically. Hopefully that'll help give you an idea of what they're looking for.