Some advice please!

humdrum

Im in a bit of a quandary here. Consider my case -

I got really bad grades in my UG (in computer Science) - 2.5 (I had no intention of applying to grad school at the time and was having a good time. No good excuse really)

But after working for a couple of years in the industry as a programmer, I realized that working as a programmer was not my thing, and research is what I want to do.

I do have a couple of good things going for me - good GRE scores (730V/790Q),

And I am working as a research assistant at IISc - which is the best research institute in India.

I expect my LoR's to be decent - not spectacular.

So, this is my plan of action -

I have applied to about 5 good schools for PhD - among the top 20. With my grades I think it will be really difficult to get a admit to a good Phd program directly, so I am thinking of applying to about 5 mid-ranked universities for Masters. I plan to continue for a PhD after doing well during Masters.

What I am really worried about is that my application will be thrown out due to my low GPA even before the rest of it is evaluated. Is there any way of preventing that? Do you think emailing prof's and requesting them to lookout for my application will help?

What do you think about my chances for getting admitted for masters? I have heard that for masters, mid-ranked universities take the GRE score more seriously than the top universities do. Is that accurate?

Do you think this is the best plan of action? Any suggestions at all?

Edited by humdrum