The Transition...

bionerd

I know most of this board is dedicated to individual cities/towns, but I thought it would be interesting to have a more general thread. The topic: Transitions!

Did you leave small town life for grad school in the big city? Or did you cut all ties to civilization to pursue your studies somewhere significantly smaller? I'm very interested in how you made your decision to change your surroundings, how you dealt with the changes, what your feelings are about the experience now.

As for me, I'm still an undergrad in a sleepy southern college town. I've never lived in a city and have only visited them for short periods of time. At this point in my grad school search, I'm looking at both big cities and smaller towns, but I'm not sure if I'd like to live in a city, or if I could even handle it! So any perspectives from the "small-town-to-big-city" area would be especially appreciated :)

My wife and I moved from living on a little house on a 10 acre horse farm to New Orleans for graduate school.

There are some things that really frustrate me- lack of space, people around all the time- but I just try to focus on the benefits of living in a city, at least for a few years. Lots of interesting things to do, etc.

I think a lot of it depends on finding an area in the city that you like- we moved to one of the older areas of New Orleans, and while it's a big city, and quite busy, it feels more like a bunch of small towns crammed together.

If any of you guys can give advice on HOW to transition as well, that'd be awesome. As in, how'd you find a new place to live, how'd you find a job, how'd you go about meeting people in your new environment, etc

Well, to start finding a house I looked on craigslist, a lot, and also e-mailed some of the profs and grad students I'd met on my visit to get suggestions or see if they knew any open places.