Moving from UK to US to study for PhD

Hi everyone,

I've been reading these boards for a while now but have only just registered. I have a few questions about the US system for PhD applications and would quite like some opinions as well.

I am on a Masters/MA course at the moment - it's part taught, part research - half my marks come from the essays I write from taught units and the other half come from the dissertation (15,000 words) I write between April and September. I graduated with a BA in 2009, and (if the grade converters I have looked at are anything to go by) my mark is somewhere on the cusp of A-/A in US terms. Currently I am on for what I guess would be a "good" A in my MA program (although really the defining thing will be the dissertation). I want to wait to apply until I have finished my MA (and therefore for autumn 2012 application) because I think it will be a stronger application with the MA.

I know there is a language requirement for a lot of US PhDs; I studied French and Latin at High School but have not done so since, although I will be taking up Latin (again) and Spanish this month. I am keen to get good at these languages fast and hope that I will be at a reasonable level by next Fall when I apply.

Both my degrees are from top 10 (UK) Universities, and my interests are predominantly mid-late Nineteenth and pre-war Twentieth Century literature (particularly British and American).