Hi all,

I have been lucky to have a successful application season and I have narrowed my decision down two great graduate programs in Biostatistics.

• Option 1: Brown University, Ph.D. in Biostatistics
  • Option 2: McGill University, M.Sc. then Ph.D. in Biostatistics (Admitted to M.Sc. but continuation into Ph.D. is very unproblematic and smooth)

I could really use your thoughts on a decision. Please note that my pros and cons are highly subjective and that my thoughts are still a bit convoluted.

A bit about me:

• (Educational) Background: I am international student from Europe and I went to a large U.S. state school for undergrad (by no means competitive). I studied Business Economics and Data Science. Then, I worked as a researcher at a lab at UChicago (doing mostly causal ML), became interested in Biostats, and started taking graduate coursework in Statistics without actually obtaining a degree.
  • Strengths/ Weaknesses: My weakest point of my application was the lack of extensive theoretical coursework in stats/math. My biggest strength was that I have almost 2 years of full-time research experience in causal inference and ML and a (not totally irrelevant to Biostats) first author publication.
  • My interests: My current field of interest is at the intersection of causal inference and networks. I am also interested in dynamic treatment regimes and non-parametric methodology. From an applied side, I am most interested in environment and public health.
  • Why graduate school: Though it is hard to quantify what I want to do post graduate school, I would say I want go into academia at a weight of about 40% vs. a public (Think: NHI) / think tank role at 60%. I really care about producing meaningful (mostly in a policy sense) research. That being said, it is important to me to keep the option of academia open. On that note, I feel strongly about wanting to live and work in Canada for personal reasons.

My considerations/thoughts: