Just signed up for GRE and noticed text about new GRE questions in email and last min study tips?

Mikeden

Hi everyone,

I just signed up for the GRE. I am going to be taking it in about 2 weeks. I noticed this text in the confirmation email about new question types:

"Two new question types are included in the computer-based GRE General Test. You may see one new Verbal OR one new Quantitative question type in your test. These new question types will be counted toward examinee scores as soon as an adequate sample of data has been collected. View sample questions and additional information at www.ets.org/gre/newquestiontypes.html."

I clicked on the link but it appears to not be working. I was under the impression that the new question types were pushed off until the new GRE in August?

...and yeah, I am freaking out a little bit....I am not good at standardized tests, so I am just praying that I break 1000 (i've ranged anywhere from 840 - 1190 on the practice tests depending on the first few questions I got) and my GPA (3.97), research experience, work experience and letters of recommendation will give the GRE less weight in my applications.

I am much weaker in the quant section than verbal. I've gone over the Kaplan math workbook and I have done various math questions and my quant scores now usually range from 490-600 on the practice tests. I usually spend way too much time on the first 10 questions (getting most right) before rushing through the last 18 and getting most of them wrong.

For the people who took the tests, is there anything else that you would recommend that I focus on? I've been taking practice tests through Kaplan but I am going to download Powerprep and take a practice test on there at least once before I take my test (I work full time so I don't have much time to study during the week).

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Mikeden