I'm going to ______________ and this is why!

Berlin

I thought it would be helpful for those of us (i.e. almost all of us) still wrestling with the pros and cons of our various options to have a thread where once a decision is made, people can explain why. So, when a decision is reached, fill out:

THIS IS WHERE I'M GOING TO ATTEND:

OTHER SCHOOLS I CONSIDERED:

WHY I CHOSE MY NEW SCHOOL:

good luck everyone!

• 2 weeks later...

THIS IS WHERE I'M GOING TO ATTEND: Berkeley GSPP, MPP (no funding)

OTHER SCHOOLS I CONSIDERED: UT Austin (full funding), GPPI (just a lil' funding), GW (no funding), Columbia (no funding), UCLA (no funding)

1. I am a CA resident.

2. I visited on admit day and was overwhelmingly impressed with the students, teachers, and the curriculum. The school itself is highly regarded even at Berkeley-- there are specific spots reserved for GSPP students in the law and econ classes, etc.

3. The location of the school is in the Bay area -- its a great place to live.

4. Although I have not received any funding, I'm fairly confident I will get tuition remission and pay only 2k/semester. Work opportunities abound at the school. If you are willing to put in the effort to find work, you will find it.

5. The opportunities to network through the program are amazing. I'm sure I'll have a job by the time I graduate with minimal debt.

6. Also, continuing on to a phd would not be difficult.

7. I'm allowed to call the faculty by their first name.

8. I receive a key to the GSPP building which is a cozy little place.

9. Of all the people I met, there were only 1 or 2 that I didn't immediately get along with.

10. Its a collaborative atmosphere.

11. Its berkeley. The name recognition alone is fantastic.

12. Its the smallest MPP program I could find.