Berkeley Acceptance

Just got an e-mail! I am accepted to Berkeley too!!! but man is the funding situation dismal.

Probably isn't as bad as it sounds on paper--and I bet there's a lot of opportunity for those who look for it--but I envision combing beaches just to scavenge for food.

Mmm, delicious slimy mollusks.

Edited by jprufrock

I was accepted to Berkeley. I'm super excited! I did (well actually, I am now finishing!) my undergrad there. They said I'm nominated for a fellowship, but yeah, we'll see how the funding goes.

Edited by t11

I was accepted to Berkeley. I'm super excited! I did (well actually, I am now finishing!) my undergrad there. They said I'm nominated for a fellowship, but yeah, we'll see how the funding goes.

Congratulations to you both!

Hey, congratulations! I'm also an undergrad at Berkeley, still waiting back on an admissions decision though. What's your area of specialization?

In response to a later comment: I heard from one of my professors that all acceptances have been decided upon, the admissions committee is just figuring out the details of funding. So it's quite possible that students who aren't going to be receiving fellowships will be contacted later...although without a fellowship, and considering the way California's funding of education has been going lately, I'm not sure Berkeley would be as high up on my list...!

Is this it for Berkeley acceptances? I read they accept ~40 people, so I'm wondering if just fellowship nominees got responses and there's still hope for regular admits...

Congratulations to those of you you have been admitted!