Low GPA but High Potential

adenning09

This is my second year applying to graduate schools in Physical Anthropology. My GPA within my major is a 3.0, I have 2 years field experience (including supervisory), while I haven't published anything, I do have a lot of research complete (with write-up) and I am even able to return to my field school to conduct my own research again (which I assume looks great for a potential masters thesis).

My problem: I have a low overall GPA (2.3) and low-ish GRE scores (1050). The GRE I can obviously retake.

During my undergrad, I suffered heavily from depression (though I was not seeing a therapist or anyone for it, which is typical of depression). This heavily impacted my work outside of Anthropology (pretty much the only thing I was able to focus on).

Additionally, my professor capable of giving the strongest recommendation for my academic and professional work was unable to write me a recommendation letter (due to legal reasons involving my college screwing her over with her contract and her not being able to comment on my work under her there).

How do I go about explaining these issues (the depression has been dealt with, and no longer effects my motivation for coursework) to a graduate committee without sounding like a sob-story ploy to get myself in?

While in a different discipline and circumstances, I had a similar issue in terms of health affecting coursework initially. I overcame it by stating it simply and succinctly in the proper part of the application rather than developing a large narrative about it or letting it seep into other parts of my application. The "sob story" detriment only comes into play if you make it one, I think. Stating it and moving on shows you recognize it, you've addressed it, and it won't affect your graduate work.