Technical Communication -> Rhetoric

I'm sorry if this topic is redundant; I've looked around a bit and haven't seen anything on the subject, but please direct me to the proper post if I've missed the discussion. I'm a tech com undergrad planning on applying to a PhD or MA Rhetoric program this fall. I have a strong chemistry background and would like to focus on science/technology and rhetoric (I know, original, right). What I'm not sure is how my background will play when it comes to admissions. Will committees balk at my non-English degree, which furthermore is a B.S. as opposed to a B.A.? I want to apply to a Rhetoric program instead of a TC program because I want a broader education and more composition pedagogy. The other parts of my profile worry me too; not so much anticipated GPA or GRE, but that in general I look like a tech com candidate (paper undergoing peer review, but in a TC journal; work exp all in TC jobs). This isn't a chance me thread. I just want to know if anyone has made the switch from this field to rhetoric and how easy/hard it was, strategies, etc.

Also, how about the job market; better for Rhet/Comp PhD's or Tech Com PhD's?

Thanks for any info you could share.

Some schools will accept you to the MA program without the English background, but most Phd programs are going to require a background in the field first. You may want to consider going the MA route so you can get that background. You can always directly contact schools that you are interested in to gain a more specific perspective. My one concern is that if you are planning on applying directly to phd programs, most deadlines have already passed for fall 2011. I know some schools accept MA applications longer, but not necessarily. Definitely look into when those deadlines are for the schools you are interested in.