Teachers College Columbia University

iluvbooks

I am currently a high school English teacher looking to further my education. Teachers College at Columbia seems to have a very good reputation and a wide variety of programs to choose from. My ultimate goal would be to earn an EdD, but I would not be opposed to entering a Master's program first with the hope of being accepted into an EdD program upon completion of the Master's degree. My hope would be to enter into a course of study in either the Fall of 2012 or 2013. I would really appreciate it if someone could advise me on the type of experience (or further education) I should plan to augment my resume with to make me a more competitive candidate.

Here's my educational background (I didn't attend very prestigious universities):

University of Connecticut - Double Major in English and History - Bachelor of Arts degree - GPA 3.1

Sacred Heart University - Master of Arts in Teaching - Major: Secondary Education - GPA - 3.9

I know my undergrad gpa is unimpressive, but I am hoping the fact that I worked nearly full time during my Bachelor's and Master's degree would count for something.

Professional Experience:

Year long Internship at the High School level

2 years of Full Time teaching English Literature at the high school level

1 year of serving as an ESL Resource Teacher to several high schools in a large urban district

My next step - I am hoping to gain some international experience by teaching English abroad (possibly Japan). If that doesn't work out, I'll probably add a couple of more years of teaching experience to my resume.

Realistically what are my chances? What do I need to do to better my chances? Should I just resign myself to going to a state university for my EdD?

Teacher's College is a fantastic program. I know some people who have gone there and they both taught 2-3 years.