Penn GSE

nanducket

I noticed there isn't a conversation this year about Penn, so I figured that I would start one. I got confirmation exactly 4 weeks ago that my application was complete and had been forwarded on to the faculty review board. I understand that Penn promises to make a decision within 4 weeks... anyone else find themselves in this situation?

Yeah, I got an email on Feb. 3 that said, "Your application for admission to the Penn Graduate School of Education has been received and will be sent for faculty review." I'm new to all of this, so I don't know much, but when I got a similar email from GW it took less than a week to hear the final decision. So I'm a bit anxious!

Edited by sarmstrong

Yes, I got the same email back in November, but when I checked the admissions' blog, it stated that acceptances had gone out by now, so I figured I got rejected. Also, the PhD applicant weekend was early Feb too.....again, there might still be hope, but I know it's a longshot for me.

http://penngseadmissions.blogspot.com/search/label/Admissions

I understand that Penn promises to make a decision within 4 weeks...

My understanding is they make it their goal to provide a decision within 4 weeks, but they do not promise to do so. An admissions rep at Penn told me they reach this goal nine times out of ten. A later decision does not reflect on the likelihood you will be accepted though... according to the rep.

That said I'm very anxious as well. I submitted my application on the 15th and it was forwarded to the committee on the 20th. Have you been reading their admissions blog? It is a great way to keep up to date on the status of everything. According to the blog they sent out Doctoral program decisions last week. Maybe they will get around to Masters this week.

Best of luck!

I just checked my application status online and saw the rejection letter posted there. I did not receive an email telling me to check the website.