University of Miami (Florida)

sashi

Hi. Any new grad student moving to the UMiami this fall 2011? I am pretty sure I will be studying at UM. Lets connect to discuss further about accommodation , travel and student life. Keep posted

Won't be here for grad school but I'm a current student. Let me know if you have any questions and I can try and help!

Thanks for that. What is the average monthly expenditure for a grad student in Miami?

@ Kathiza

Congratulations on your admissions at UM. Is your funding decision done?

Yes and no. I got a tuition waiver for the whole duration of the program and I got other funding for the first year. But no TA/RA. I can apply for those during my first year.

Yes and no. I got a tuition waiver for the whole duration of the program and I got other funding for the first year. But no TA/RA. I can apply for those during my first year.

That is great. I am sure you will be able to find TA/RA first year. I am still waiting for funding decisions and hopefully I will hear from them later next week. My certificate of admission did not mention anything about funding and I was like: "oh ok now I got to spend three more weeks palpitating" :)

• 3 weeks later...

i just sent in my paperwork confirming my acceptance. i've started informally digging around. i haven't found much, but here's all i have so far:

1) the best places to look (closest to campus, safe area) are Coral Gables and South Miami. apparently, if you can't find anything in those areas, the next best is Kendall.

2) Here is UM's off-campus housing site. on the right is a roommate finder (not many people on here, though, and they're mostly all undergrads) and a link to apartment listings.

3) Here are Craig's List Miami housing listings. there are tabs at the top that let you choose "Miami/Dade."