Tenure Track Position or PhD Program?

what would you do? I interviewed/demo'd for a TT position at a CC and will know the results April 5th. I'm on the PhD wait list at a school I've applied to several times over and made wait list each time. If offered the TT position, do I take it and turn down a possible PhD acceptance offer, or do I wait it out, take the TT (we all know those come around few and far between) and apply again to the program in a few years? I have a Masters degree (not terminal in my field) and would like to make $10k more the PhD would yield; I would also like the portability that a PhD *might* offer that the Masters wouldn't. Then again, a PhD might not get me a TT position any better than or faster than a Masters would get me.

Sadly, both of these situations are hypothetical... but they ARE causing me great stress. I'm curious to see what my peers would do in this situation (let's say it isn't hypothetical and you were offered both the position and the admission).

Cross your fingers at least one of these comes to fruition.

Edited by unearthedlurker

Oh, I haven't even known that you can get a TT position without having a PhD :o

Is it possible??

It would be possible with an MFA, as that's often seen as a terminal degree in creative writing. Could also be possible with an MA at a community college? I know that I'm eligible for full-time instructor positions at the community college near me once I have an MA (and they might be tenured, but I'm not sure).