Commiseration

gnetophyte

Hello, everyone,

I'm a first-year student in a Ph.D. program in Plant Biology. The past twelve months have just been ... argh. Alternating between on top of the world and the pit of despair, about every week or so. Real research is hard! Undergrad research was all fun and games. When I look at the whole thesis thing I have ahead of me, I don't know if I'm good enough, but every time I do an experiment and it works I feel brilliant.

When I applied for Ph.D. programs, I was a starry-eyed liberal arts student and I figured I was going to try for a Nobel Prize someday. Pretty naive. Now that I've learned more about the actual grit of academia, I think I might go for a job in biotech. Now I find that I could get a good job with just an MS. But I could get an even better one with a Ph.D. if I stick it out for three additional years...

I hate, hate, HATE the snow in this part of the country. I've just endured a four-month-long winter and the prospect of three or four more winters is daunting.

Sometimes I get lonely. I work at maintaining an active social life with the grad club and the fantasy writer's group in the city, but I feel guilty whenever I'm not in the lab. And my PI has really high standards.

Writing a dissertation feels like I'm going to have to climb Mount Everest, but I look back at the past year, and I've made so much progress, and I just don't know. And looking at the forums here, it seems like just about every other grad student in existence is going through the same thing. Can we commiserate, please?

P.S.

Plus, I don't know where my funding is going to come from next year. Waiting on a bed of nails to hear back from the NSF fellowship in a couple of weeks.