Many questions?

JosephClarkGrew

OK this is going to be a bit incoherent because, truthfully, my own thought process is all but clear on the matter.

In a nutshell:

First, I want to know if I should apply to MA programs for history in the fall. I am reluctant to because there are so few (if any) funded ones and taking out loans for grad school in the humanities is a recipe for lifelong indebtedness! However, an MA would be good because it would boost my "marketability" in the general job market, would let me figure out if I wanted to pursue a phd, and would enable me to get into a better program if I do choose to pursue a phd (I am currently a senior about to graduate at the "nowhere state university" that is thrown around these boards a lot haha). So that is one problem: Should I even bother going for an MA.