pre medical help

Samender

I am planning to do pre-medical studies in MA, USA (I am an in-state student). But I do not know which course combination to take (majors and minors) so that in near future i have some backup too.

Is biochemistry with genetics / cellular biology a good choice ?

It really depends on your interest. What you can do is focus on your major but do take few science courses outside of your major in preparation for first year medical studies such as histology class or animal pathology type class which are offered in major universities.

• 2 months later...

Greetings,

Its good to have a strong biomedical background like: biochemistry, molecular and cell biology, Genetics, Microbiology, Neurobiology, Anatomy, courses like that. Also, do lot of undergraduate research that involces biomedical sciences and clinical stuff and voluntary work. Because in medical school (for Ph.D., M.D. or both) there are hundreds like you applying, you need to demonstrated to the admission committee what makes YOU different from the rest of the admission pool .

Cheers!! XD

• 1 year later...