Failing classes

Long story short. First year grad student, did not like my program.

I'm a psychology student in a mathematical psychology program, the course works I am taking are rather ridiculous: I am taking qualifying classes with the math graduate students!!

I have an ok math background, but I am certainly not as good at math compared with math grad students. And unlike them, I was put directly into the medium/high level classes. I felt like being thrown into the deep side of a swimming pool, and I am not good at swimming.

I applied for an actual psychology program, and was accepted, so I will start over this coming fall at a different university. Here is problem: I am extremely unmotivated in the course works i am taking right now, especially since I know I will leave the current program, and will never need to worry about theoretical math again. Plus I had serious problems understanding the lecture and following the course material, I am failing the classes.

Will the transcript at my current school impact my future career in grad school?

David

Any transcript you may have to provide for future applications could absolutely impact your future career in grad school. Regardless of their relevance or how far in the past they are, failed marks on a transcript will need to be explained somehow. You can't leave it up to an adcomm to interpret those grades- you will want to frame it in a certain way to where it will minimize the hit against your overall app. This is all IMHO. Good luck to you.

I am actualy not sure. I transferred and I was worried about my grades (they turned out to be ok) because I was highly highly unmotivated after I got accepted to my current program. Mosty I was watching videos about the new place etc. When I got to my new PhD dept nobody ever asked for my transcript from my previous year in PhD.

Will the transcript at my current school impact my future career in grad school?

David