Visiting Schools

lookatthedonutnotthehole

This may be a stupid question, but do you visit the schools before you apply or after you apply and get accepted? I know a lot of people visit the schools before they apply, but I was thinking I could apply first and then visit the ones I get accepted to. That way I can save my money on the ones that don't accept me, so I wouldn't have wasted my time flying out to visit them. Is that a bad idea?

Edited by lookatthedonutnotthehole

I asked the exact same question a couple weeks ago from the manager of university and industry liaison at my school (I am in my 4th year in my BFA program). I was accepted with merit award to some schools MFA program for fall 2011 but I declined because they are not fully funded so I want to apply again next year to other schools. (Though I haven't heard from two schools yet.) She told me I definitely need to visit schools before I apply and get to know the faculty, their teaching philosophy and what directions the school is taking as well as to learn about in what way they support the development and career of the MFA students. In graduate school it is important to have good chemistry at least with one or two faculty members (minimum) as they can become your thesis advisers and your best supporters. It is also an opportunity for them to get to know you and they will remember you when it comes to decision though you still have to have a strong portfolio. The best time to visit is around late September or October .