Javits 09-10

engguy

The deadline for this is quickly approaching, and I wondered if anyone has any knowledge of this fellowship and can advise on whether I should bother to apply. My situation is this:

I am in the first year of a PhD in English; I have the best fellowship the school has to offer, which amounts to $22k a year with TA stipend for 4 years; I have a perfect GPA from graduate school and a number of publications and awards. The main thing I'm concerned about is that my f-ship will, if not disqualify me, at least push my app to the bottom of the pile. I'm very busy, needless to say, and don't want to bother with this if I have no shot.

Anyone know the ins and outs of the Javits process care to share?

thanks

Well, that's my question; I've never done this before. I've never filled out a FAFSA. I am eligible for loans -- some of my classmates have loans, in addition to TA stipend / fellowships. There's nothing at all that I can see on the eligibility requirements that prevents people who have funding from applying for a Javitts as well. I just don't know if they would look at that, and, as you have, wonder why i'm applying. Javitts is offered to incoming PhD's as well as those who haven't yet completed their first years...

personally, I wouldn't take money that I didn't need in this case. I'm thinking about Ph.D students who get no funding vs. me who has no extra costs. Maybe I'd have more incentive if it could be used as pocket change, but the principle of even that is something I'm glad I don't have to consider.

In terms of qualification, I've heard it's somewhat common that one fellowship opens up the floodgates for more. Now, I don't know if that means that those who have fellowships are more qualified in some way, but one could assume that, like GPA is a signal, so are fellowships.