Place to go (other board?) for people thinking of jumping ship?

triceratops

All right, usual sob story here. After a rockin' masters (3.94 or something), I got a B in the first year of PhD :-( The comps went really well, though, and vindicated the B class somewhat with two great papers on the same subject matter. A B, two A's and two A-'s later, I'm thinking that any job search team will choke on their donuts after viewing my transcript.

Why not pack it up? I'm a good amateur linux programmer, maybe that'll get me somewhere. I don't play instruments, so busking is sorta out of the question :-( I don't do clown birthday parties either :-(

Is there a subforum or other forum for people who've realized halfway through their PhD that they just not going to make it on the job market? I'd like to hear from those who packed it up, are able to manage their debts without gambling or money laundering, and have found something else interesting to do. I just don't see the point in finishing if I'm going to be a weak candidate.

Others will vouch for this, but I've consistently read that grades don't matter on the job market. If you can publish, write a good dissertation, get teaching experience, and present yourself and your work well at job talks, interviews, etc. nobody will care that you got a B instead of an A in coursework.

Now, if you truly do consider yourself a 'weak candidate' regardless of the grades, and don't have the passion anymore for academia, by all means, do what you think would make you happier. But if you're still enjoying your academic life, and are funded, I don't see why you should quit now.

Agreed—is the issue that you don't feel that you're doing well in your classes and not putting forth strong research? Or is the issue simply the letter on the transcript?