Does a GPA misstep in a masters program spell trouble for PhD apps?

Hi,

I'm currently doing a masters in Medieval History in an attempt to make myself a bit more marketable to the PhD programs that I'm interested in (UVA, among others). I've just gotten one of my grades in for this semester for a class that was required but well outside my comfort zone, and it was an A-. In your experiences, how much might an A- on a transcript hurt me, in the grand scheme of things, keeping in mind that I should be presenting at several conferences next year, as well as publishing an article? If all goes according to plan, I should be able to pull out a 3.975 for a final GPA.

For other background information, I'm planning on going into historical linguistics and had a 1330 GRE.

I'm just a little devastated and frantic right now, so any advice that you could provide would be really helpful.

Gee, when I read the title of this thread, I thought it was going to be about getting a C or something, which would be trouble. What's wrong with an A-? A 3.98 GPA? Are you kidding? I would kill for that. I had a 3.40 GPA in my master's program, and still got in somewhere I'm very happy with. Your GPA should have no effect at all on your chances. I've never been the type to worry about grades, so I can't relate to the emotional reactions you describe, but I think your 'devestation' over this is needless. Good luck!

• 2 weeks later...

This is one of those field-by-field, program-by-program, things again, isn't it? One of the ones where half the posters claim that anything lower than an A in grad school is a warning sign that you are sucking, and the other half claim that anything above a C+ is totally fine, and both sides are correct for their own programs and fields?