Applying to MPH. Should I take Cultural Anthropology or Sociology?

goomba25

Some of the places I'm applying to require a Social Science course in these areas. As my background is in hard science, I missed out.

The ideal choice would give me insight into audience motivations and behaviors, allowing me to better tailor interventions. Assume that all other things are equal besides the course choice.

Thanks for all the advice!

I'm not from your field, but if you're interested in understanding the relationship between culture and health, or the way culture (symbols, discourses, etc) acts to shape people's healthcare expectations, a good Medical Anthropology course might fit the bill. I once landed an internship doing cross-cultural healthcare marketing on the basis of haven taken a medical anthro course.... It'll be considerably less "crunchy" (there will be few numbers or statistics) approach than sociology would provide, but it might be a good counterpoint to your sciences background.

You can always contact the instructor of whatever courses you're looking at to find out if they'd suit your needs.

Thanks fumblewhat! You're the second person that's given me good ratings on a medical anthropology course.

If you're looking for some fun reading, there's a book about a medical anthropologist, Paul Farmer, called "Mountains Beyond Mountains." Beyond just being a great book, it glosses some basic medical anthro theory and profiles its most prominent practiioner. Good stuff!

Good luck!

If you're looking for some fun reading, there's a book about a medical anthropologist, Paul Farmer, called "Mountains Beyond Mountains." Beyond just being a great book, it glosses some basic medical anthro theory and profiles its most prominent practiioner. Good stuff!

Good luck!

I've just recently heard about Paul Farmer and his work with PIH. I knew "the man who would cure the world" is a doctor and advocate, but I didn't know he was also a medical anthropologist.