Help in applying?

Hello everyone. I graduated with a bachelors in English a year ago with a GPA of 3.0. Now I want to apply to a Ph.D program. I don't have any publications either.

1) My first question is: With a 3.0 would it be a good idea to apply to ivy league and/or topnotch schools? I'm sure I'll get a response telling me there's nothing to lose except I have to save my money just so I can register for the GRE. Those application fees add up.

2)Also, what schools are good to apply to. I'm interested in African American Lit as well as American Lit, haven't really made a final decision. I don't really have anyone who can advise me on this matter so I'm turning here.
I'm currently looking at the University of Virginia, Rutgers University, Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL), University of Pittsburgh, Rice University, Vanderbilt University, and University of Maryland (UMD).

Any helpful advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.

This is my view and you can take it or leave it, but I don't think you should be applying to PhD programs in English with a 3.0 GPA (I'm assuming on a 4.0 scale). That's a lot lower than what 90% of the applicants will be bringing to the table. People with pristine academic records and perfect GRE scores get routinely rejected from Ivy/top 20 programs, and while I'm sure there are some anecdotal cases of people getting into their dream programs with lower GPAs/GRE scores, more often than not, it's a crap shoot. The competition for spots in funded PhD programs is fierce, and the fierceness seems to be amplified when it comes to English. Having a low GPA could cause some adcomms to simply eliminate you before they even read your application. Also, while school rankings are somewhat important, the individual people/faculty you wish to work with are much more important. You might find that someone you really admire is not at an Ivy or top 20 school. Personal fit is paramount.