Speech-Pathology Grad School

Flyers413

Hi guys, I need some advice. I'm applying to grad school for Speech-Language Pathology in the fall. I got a 1020 on the GRE, my GPA is a 3.37 but I have made the Dean's List the past two semesters. I was a TA for a teacher in the field, and also am involved in research with two other professors. I am involved with a new club at my school, Operation Smile and have a leadership position. I also have a minor, Human Development and Family Studies. Please let me know what you think regarding graduate school. Taking time off to higher my GPA isn't really an option; I need to get started right away. Are there any schools that seem like they'd fit the bill and accept me? PLEASE help!! Thank you =)

• 2 weeks later...

I believe research and being a TA are highly regarded - Find a school that reviews all applications, not just ones that are above a certain cutoff point. You might have an edge because of everything you are involved in. Focus on writing an impressive letter of intent.

• 1 month later...

From what I've seen, research and experience at least vaguely related to the field are all really good. I have seen a lot of people post acceptances on here that have even lower GRE and GPA scores. I wish I had more experience!

• 3 weeks later...

You're wasting your time if you think graduate work in speech pathology is the key to success. I too got sucked into that irreversible vortex of exuberance and excitement when I got that email from the University of Redlands in April of 2010 offering me a spot in their grad communicative disorders program.

At first you think the world is yours for the taking. Then, slowly, you realize that speech-language therapy is a complete farce. You start to see that no one has bothered to publish anything in that ASHA publication questioning if therapy even works!

kurt