I/O graduate education

riz

Hello everyone,

I was hoping to get some advice on my current situation as far as my education goes in I/O psyc. I am currently an undergraduate junior at UMD and i ahve been premed/psychology , until now where i have decided to pursue my major instead and more specifically I/O psyc. The reason for htis is i have found that i am not getting the grades that i would like with the premed courses, which i have completed but with a 2.3 average which has brought my overall GPA very low. However, the GPA for the rest of my courses including Psyc is about 3.5. I always kept psychology as my backup plan, but hadnt decided anything specific, until i researched I/O psyc and found it very interesting. UMD offers a couple of lab and lecture courses in I/O which i have registered for. However, i am concerned that i will not be able to get into any PhD program with my GPA and i basically only have 3 semesters left to graduate so even if i do get a 4.0 every semester, it wont boost my GPA that much. Now that i dont have to worry about any of my science classes anymore, i feel getting a 3.8-4.0 for the remainder of my undergraduate career is achievable, as i have demonstrated this with my non science classes. i eventually want to do PhD, but in my current situation i cannot most likely get into any program directly, so i thought i will apply for masters first, and then go from there. However, i am concerned that i will not be able to get into any masters program either . So i guess my question is, what options do i have left now? I fulfilled my premed requirements, but at a cost for my GPA which now wont allow me to get into any psych graduate program either. Sorry for the long explanation, but any incite would be helpful, thanks! the only thing i can think of is taking an extra year and trying to boost my GPA further from the two extra semesters. I have not taken the GRE yet, but i plan to this summer, as well as participate in research. If i get suffi