Military Experience?

This is more of a general question about personal history, and less about a specific SoP, but maybe some people here can help me out. Is there any general consensus on military experience and its possible benefit (or detriment) to one’s application? In my case, I graduated from a service academy several years ago and served the active duty commitment required of me after graduation, and am now applying for graduate programs in the hopes of leaving the military for civilian life. My graduate ambitions are to study philosophy and focus in ethics, applied ethics and moral epistemology, and while they’ve arisen in part due to my experiences I’m reluctant to make this aspect of myself a central part of my application. I think I have a application that is competitive enough in its own right: 1400+ GRE, solid recommendations, and a good writing sample, so should I bother mentioning the military outside the boxes of applications entitled ‘work experience?’

I think so - absolutely. You mentioned yourself that:

"​while they’ve arisen in part due to my experiences"

I'm no expert but if the military was responsible for you wanting to study this, then it should be in there. Furthermore, being in the military is prestigious in its own regard, why not talk it??