My Experience Taking the Revised GRE

wildviolet

I took the Revised GRE today, and my preliminary score ranges were: 670-770 Verbal and 750-800 Quantitative.

After the writing section, I received the first quantitative section. The questions seemed easier compared to the practice questions I had seen in the Princeton Review and Official GRE Prep books. The next section was verbal, which also seemed relatively easy, except for the reading comprehension questions. I had to be very careful because I received several science topics, and since my background is in science, I had to be aware of the influence of my prior knowledge on the topic versus what was actually in the reading passage.

Then, I took advantage of the 10-minute break to get a drink and stretch my legs.

When I returned, I received the second quantitative section, which was much harder than the first one. Thus, I reasoned that I had done fairly well on the first section. There were some very tough questions, which I saved for last and basically guessed on towards the end. The next section was verbal. Again, the second section was much harder than the first one, especially in terms of vocabulary. I was definitely not as sure of my responses and double-checked all my answers.

I think the last section I received was an experimental quantitative section because the time was set for 35 minutes and the questions were very basic and straightforward.

My strategy for both sections was to skip the questions that seemed hard--the "mark" for later feature was an excellent tool for this. On the other hand, you could leave it unanswered, and it will show up as such when you click on the "review" button. For the verbal section, I skipped the reading comprehension questions because I knew they would take more time, and I wanted to get the other question types out of the way first.