When do people usually get journal access after acceptance?

InquilineKea

So, remote journal access is super-important to me, and I have a very nasty commute to my university (where I can log into departmental computers with journal access), so I'd much prefer to have journal access at home (also, I need access to a wide variety of journals too). Right now, I'm trying to delay graduation as much as possible just so that there won't be any "loss of journal access continuity" between undergrad and grad school. But are there any other options? When do people usually get that sort of journal access?

Technically, the next school year is a gap year for me, but I've delayed my graduation such that I'm still in UG throughout autumn.

Edited by InquilineKea

I can still access my undergrad school's databases through VPN even though I graduated in May. I was supposed to get access to my grad school's library databases after registering for classes, but that didn't seem to work.

Edited by eco_env

I can still access my undergrad school's databases through VPN even though I graduated in May. I was supposed to get access to my grad school's library databases after registering for classes, but that didn't seem to work.

Hm, what sort of VPN did you use? How were you able to use it?

I still have SSH access to departmental computers, but non-GUI programs can't download journal articles. If I try to SSH -X (which means window access), the lag becomes unbearable

I've always had success just using the school's library server as a proxy. Usually instructions on how to do this on the library's website.

Note that not all journals allow remote access, nor do all schools.

I still have SSH access to departmental computers, but non-GUI programs can't download journal articles. If I try to SSH -X (which means window access), the lag becomes unbearable

I'm not sure. I just followed the instructions on the library website. apparently my username and password are still active.