Concerns about Re-Apply for PhD in another school

sansanxia

Hi guys, I have a problem which makes me think a lot of recently. Hope someone could give me some suggestions and ideas

I am a first year PhD student with TAship at a university in OR, and my fiancee is also a first year PhD student at another university in OK. Both of us have the same major. For some reasons, we cannot get the admission from same school. Now, after one and half months' study at different schools, both of us noticed that it's very hard to continue study without each other. Also, I feel uncomfortable about the atmosphere in the new department because everyone here is not very friendly. So I decide to re-apply for her university. Although her school has lower tier than my school, it is enough for me and I will be happier in there.

I would like to ask my M.S. adviser to write another LOR for me, but what I am worried about is that my decision may make him angry. Because he has some connections with my current department and he recommended me to join in this school last year. Will he understand my decision? Because I just want to live closer with my wife and take care of my family better.

So what should I do? Still try to contact M.S. adviser and tell him about my decision or just ask another 3 professors in my M.S. school to write LORs for me? I think I am a TA in the current school, my main job is grading undergrad's homework and quizzes. I do not have major adviser at current department in the first year.

Edited by sansanxia

If you explain the situation the same way you explained it here, a reasonable adviser would probably understand your reasons for leaving. You're going to have to tell him anyways, because if you ask 3 other professors at the same school, he'll probably find out anyways.

Actually, I disagree with kel. There is nothing that you have said so far that I would want to explain to any professor, especially not my advisor.