How to improve the GRE subject in lit results and FAST?

PoetryPupil

I decided quite at the last minute to take the GRE subject in literature this month. I studied intensly for a week and took the practice test (in the Princeton Review book). I got a measly 450 score (that is the 21 percentile). Now I have a week left to somehow raise it up at least by a hundred... any advice is welcome?

Obviously I plan on studying hard, but is there anything else to consider? How bad is this score anyway, should I just give up on taking this test now, will it hurt my phd applications greatly if the score is in the 450-500 range? Keep in mind I'm not a native English speaker but I AM applying to US colleges.

Thanks guys!

I just glanced at the Lit subject test, and it seems that you'd be best served by focusing on reading comprehension questions. You're not going to get the "What play is this from"/"Who wrote this poem", but you can get the questions that are testing your ability to think.

Additionally, third-party test materials seem to be notorious for knocking your score down around 100 points. Take a real practice exam: http://www.ets.org/Media/Tests/GRE/pdf/LiteratureinEnglish.pdf

I've been studying for weeks and am still not optimistic about doing as well as I want. I mean, ALL the literature written since Beowulf?? Really???

But my recommendation is to at least read the Princeton Review GRE Lit book. It can't hurt!

Good luck. I'll be suffering along with you on Saturday morning. : )

• 5 months later...

hi everyone, I've just registered here.