MPH work/volunteer experience

petee

Hi everybody,

I am planning to apply to an MPH program in the near future. I am graduating with a BSc in Anthropology and planned to pursue a masters in anthropology before I was exposed to the field of public health while I was studying abroad. I have relatively no work experience in the field. Is there any point to me applying for an MPH without work experience? Are there any schools that would consider me?

Public health programs are known for looking for students that come from a variety of academic backgrounds and with varying levels of experience. I came from another field myself, International Relations, and I'm now in my second year of my MPH program. Take a look at the schools' specific requirements (some do have experience requirements like Columbia for global programs (which I still hear you can get around)) but regardless your lack of experience shouldn't be a huge problem.

Hi,

I have similar question as one above. I don't have a very high GPA and some schools can be tough to get in so I was thinking about enhancing my volunteer/work experience part of my application. Could someone please recommend organizations/places/type of volunteer work that I can do for improving my chance of getting into the program. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

• 3 months later...