csmith88

Hi,

I come from the UK and grad school application is completely different from the USA. I was wondering if people could give me advice and tell me if they reckon I have a chance (and how high) of getting into Universities. I have provided some background knowledge about myself

I am a UK graduate student that in 2010 graduated with a First Class Honours degree degree in Medicinal Chemistry from The University of Glasgow.

I achieved straight A's in my 4th year and in my third year at Glasgow I won the Organic Prize from Schering Plough for having the highest mark in the year . I also received a bursary from GSK for having consistently good grades throughout my Chemistry undergraduate.

After Graduation I went travelling around Australia and South East Asia from 2010 - 2011.

Currently I am doing an MSc in Chemistry by Research in Organic Chemistry at Southampton University on a scholarship funded by the INTERREG program run by the EU.

I have sat the GRE general and received a score range : V :460 - 560 A - 650 - 750

I am applying to NYU (First Choice), Rochester, Stonybrook, Boston University,Brown and Georgetown..

What are my chances of gaining admission to these Universities?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as we dont have much info on this here!

Thanks,

Craig

I know the UK system, but not science at all, so take this with a grain of salt. The main difference is going to be the focus that is expected of you during applications. As you know, in the UK you have to propose a specific narrow topic to get funded and then you work on that for 3 years, while in the US that's not as expected. I would guess your masters would come in handy for showing your extra credentials and research skills, so that won't hurt at all.