Reapplying to GSPP/Harris/Sanford

Starshane

Hi everyone,

I am an international student graduated last year. I applied for Fall 2011:

Schools Admitted To: NYU Wagner($0)/ CIPA($25000)/ Heinz($3000)/ USC(half tuition)

Schools Rejected From:GSPP/Harris/Sanford.

Undergraduate GPA: 3.8 equivalent

GRE Quantitative Score: 790

GRE Verbal Score: 660

GRE AW Score: 3.5

Years of Work Experience: 1

I ended up not going anywhere and started working at a top ranking consulting firm. Yet I wanna keep trying for GSPP (because I don't have to provide GRE or TOEFL or referral letters if I'm reapplying). (why not MBA? well, Chinese have very different mentality about grad schools. Doing a MBA in the states and going back to China to continue consulting is not worth the price)

I wanna make it count this time so I really need to work on my SOP! Would somebody ever got in to these schools stand up and throw some light on how to impress the adcom and what qualifications should I exhibit and especially emphasize when applying? For example, interested in development / social equity/ teamwork / consulting, etc?

I noticed that GSPP has extraordinarily few Chinese....so should I even bother reapplying?

Hi!

I am not enrolled at any the places. But I can tell you this: the chances of getting admission are actually better this year. People are not getting funding from many sources especially funding from employers has dried up. In such a situation people are not willing to leave their jobs to get a degree in public policy.

There is the popular view that a lot of people who dont have jobs are heading to the universities or freshers who were set to join the job market are continuing with education but that is not borne out by data. Fewer people are willing to invest the money and time because of the uncertainty.

So by all means improve your SOP but you might just get lucky this time.

All the best!

Hi!