Summer Employment for History Grad Students?

goldielocks

Hey everyone,

Just a quick question. I'm trying to scope out opportunities for next summer, when I'll be done with my MA and (hopefully) transitioning into a PhD program in the fall.

Does anyone have any suggestions/experiences about field-related work for grad students over the summer months? I am willing to (temporarily) relocate and/or travel. Grading exams? I think the AP exams are primarily for faculty. Any summer camps, college prep or otherwise? Anything?

Thanks very much, as always.

Why don't you take the summer to do something different? Chances are, when you finish your MA, you'll be a little tired and you certainly don't want to go to PhD programs exhausted. It may be nice to continue to work in the field but doing something different may give you a new or different perspective. I worked as a camp counselor last summer. Yes, I was yearning for academia halfway through but working with 6 year olds and a bunch of teenagers provide a very good challenge and allowed me to see sides of myself that I had never really saw. I wouldn't trade that summer for anything else. I don't think I did anything history-related for 8-10 weeks because I was just too tired when I came home. But the time away certainly helped me to find real energy to start my job in the field and now I just love my work far more than I expected.

Why don't you take the summer to do something different? Chances are, when you finish your MA, you'll be a little tired and you certainly don't want to go to PhD programs exhausted. It may be nice to continue to work in the field but doing something different may give you a new or different perspective. I worked as a camp counselor last summer.