Admission into Anthropology higher education with low GPA

Addario

Hello all, if you could take the time to give me some advice it would really be greatly appreciated.

I am a college graduate with a poor GPA. A cumulative of a 2.5, in fact, with a 3.2 in my major of interest. I won't bore you with excuses of extenuating circumstances and family matters, all I'll say is that the factors that contributed to this poor GPA aren't relevant in my life anymore and I am very eager and ready to go to graduate school for cultural anthropology. I know if I'm accepted into a program the factors that brought my undergraduate performance down won't interfere with my graduate studies in the slightest.

I don't suffer any delusions that applying for Grad School will be an uphill battle now. Many of the programs I've looked at have a cutoff GPA of a 3.0. However, if you'll excuse my lack of modesty, I have a lot of other things going for me. I can get three stellar letters of recommendation from professors, two of them coming from the head of social sciences departments. I have completed a fall internship - and have already been accepted into a spring internship - for the anthropology department of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C. The spring internship pertains to what I want to go to grad school for. I'm applying for a summer internship to work at the Smithsonian's research center on-site, in the very region I wish to study later on, and given the feedback I've been getting from my email correspondence with those in charge of admissions, my chances of getting in are better than not. Because these internships are unpaid, I'm also applying myself to non-profit opportunities in the D.C. area. So far I haven't heard back from many, but given the number of openings i've applied to, I'm bound to get something.