PhD in poli sci with little experience: prospects?

elorica

Hello All,

I am thinking of applying to a PhD program in political science in the next couple of years, but I am a bit worried about my background.

I graduated from a top-three university with a 3.6. I majored in philosophy and minored in "European Politics" (a little bit of a BS minor here). I studied abroad, interned at the Carnegie Endowment, and also at a number of NGOs that do immigration advocacy. Next year, I'm going to enroll in a master's program at the LSE - Philosophy and Public Policy - a one-year program.

The thing that worries me most is that my background is in philosophy. I have taken very few political science classes (approximately five). My masters will give me a very good foundation in political theory, but I have almost no quantitative experience, and, though I produced a longish (80 page) paper for my undergraduate requirements, it was more a philosophy paper than a proper research paper that really employed the scientific method to test an idea. It did deal with issues of identity/political climate, but in a more cursory way.

I would be willing (and indeed I hope) to take a year off after the masters in order to work in a research position at a think tank. Do you think that this would give me enough research experience to apply to a PhD program in political science with confidence? Or, put another way, how serious a problem is posed by the fact that I did not study political science as an undergrad?

Thanks for your input.