Meeting with a Potential Advisor - Is this an interview?

inwhatway

Hello, all:

*I'm new to this forum -- please forgive me, if I'm asking a tired old question. Of course, I would appreciate any links to similar discussion threads.*

I was a first-generation college student and now that I'm applying to Ph.D. programs (Sociology, Criminal Justice, & Demography), I'm feeling a bit lost regarding protocol.

Here's my concern: I contacted potential advisors connected to each program on my list, and received invitations to meet to discuss my graduate school plans. Now, I'm just not certain how to prepare, what to expect, or what to say. Of course, this is a wonderful problem to have and any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance!

It's not a formal interview, but I'd still treat it as such. How this interaction goes could influence your chances at these schools.

That said, congratulations! :D It sounds like you're doing really well in the process so far, already.

They are informal conversations, not formal interviews, but they will color the way these PIs will view you and how likely they will be to fight for your acceptance when the adcoms make their decisions. You should take this opportunity very seriously and treat it like a serious interview. Congrats and good luck, this is a great opportunity!

When I did this, my potential adviser mainly talked about his research and what he thought good thesis topics for me would be. It wasn't a big deal, but I think it did cement the fact that he wanted me as his student.

You should go in with a good idea of your potential adviser's research so that you can ask intelligent questions, but don't stress too much. The fact that they want to meet with you is a good sign. Don't forget to be yourself!