There are a thousand topics..

Tall Chai Latte

Hello GradCafe,

'Tis the season to be preparing for prelims... Our prelim format is coming up with a research topic that interest you, write a proposal, and defend it in front of a committee.

Although, the rule is that the topic cannot be something you are or have worked on. Current projects, current projects your lab has, past rotation projects, even your past undergraduate research projects are not allowed. Looks like stepping out of the comfort zone is what's asked of us...

I'm totally new to defining a research project from a field that I have limited knowledge on. I do have one or two areas that interest me (that's outside of my past experience, expertise, and current interest), how does one even begin approaching defining a research topic after reading lots of background info? Any advice is great.